VTR-9S "Double Punch" (1x AC20, 3x SRM6+A, 2x JJ, XL360)
4/5,

1 rating

Thread in 'VTR-9S' started by locutus24, Jan 5, 2014.

1. locutus24

locutus24 New Member

Hi guys, this is my first build i made public, so be nice :D

I never was a brawler...till i found the Victor and this Build. Works suprisingly well. No backups, but enough ammo to last long enough. Till now, i found no Enemy wich could survive a 1o1 against this (very Mobile) Monster (well...lights are a problem...damn lights :angry: )
    I know, that there are 2 Volleys if i use the small Tube for SRM4´s, but the volleys get out so fast, so it never was a Problem

Alternative with SRM4+A, 4 JJ and more AC20 ammo:

What do you think?

Edit: maybe, in the SRM4 version, i could drop 1t SRM´s for an additional HS
    (sorry 4 my bad English, i am german^^)

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2014
  2. The Verge

The Verge Moderator Staff Member

First off, welcome to mechspecs!
    I only have one or two nit's to pick with this build. YOU put AMMO in your Shield arm! That's just silly!
    The second is a lack of any energy weapons. Their hit registration has been the most stable in the game, and can really help you when fighting light mechs, because you can "sweep" the legs of any light mech.
    The third is the use of Artemis in the SRM4 build. I find their grouping to be just fine without A+, so taking that out should allow you to run a few lasers. EX

Last edited: Oct 3, 2014
  3. Aylek

Aylek Administrator Staff Member

My main problems with SRMs on the 9S are how borked the SRM launchers seem to be. They even switch their order after saving a loadout... wich basically means it's impossible to mount a SRM6 in addition to other launchers. The only way I found to fire a single massive volley using all launchers was to mount 2x SRM4 and a single SRM2. Which sucks.

4. locutus24

locutus24 New Member

Thanks for the input :)