Jenner's Role in PUG

Thread in 'Jenner' started by Fleanutbutter, Mar 18, 2014.

1. Fleanutbutter

Fleanutbutter Benefactor

I'm pretty new to the game (6 wks) and after mastering Jaegers, Victors, and Cents I decided to try light mechs.

I picked Jenners because of speed and looking like a turd-with-legs. I've gotten 2 of 3 through basic efficiencies but don't feel like I'm playing them right.

I have two kinds of games:

1. Sub-100 damage where I die in the first 3 minutes. This usually happens when I try to do what I think light mechs are supposed to do - scout out the enemy, target for missles, harrass missle boats, etc. I tend to get spotted and focused on which is death for a light mech. Even when I try to escape I'll end up with waves of lrms pounding me or 2-3 lights hunting me down.

2. 3-400 dmg and survive to end of match. This usually happens when I hang back and wait for a melee to develop and then move through it at high speed popping legs and backs or anything else that presents itself as I madly try and avoid running into anything and slowing down. I recently had a 6 kill, 4 assist game with 300 dmg. Maybe it was kill-stealing but most of what I was hitting wasn't even targetted, if I saw an enemy I put 6 spls in it while running past and then weaved back into the bldgs.

I want to be able to play this mech "right" but what my head tells me is right is resulting in very little contibution to the team and isn't very fun (game type 1). Game type 2 is more fun and has better stats but I am sure I'd do more damage in my Jaeger or Victor so...

I've watched a bunch of Jenner videos (Mack's is hilarious - think young Ozzie, a little less drunk). I think I've gotten some ideas from the videos that I'm trying to incorporate into my game as my skills increase.

Any other advice for playing the Jenner better?

2. Falconium

Falconium Administrator Staff Member

Hey Fleanutbutter, welcome to the game.