TBT-5J Poptart (1x LRM20+A, 1x LLas, 2x MLas, AMS, XL250)

Thread in 'TBT-5J' started by c2.fox0, Feb 20, 2013.

1. c2.fox0

c2.fox0 New Member

I am new to this and noticed that there are no posts for this mech yet. I thought I would help pave the way to cookie cutter mechs in this thread. Feel free to tear it apart and share your thoughts!

The idea behind this mech was to use jump jets to get in a nice place to toast and pop up fire LRMs. it can be modified for 2 large lasers instead of 2 med and 1 large. The large laser is to support long range conflict while the medium lasers are to help when a scout finds you out. I have only battle tested this once and the test worked well. Other than that, this has little experience and I am sure needs some work. Rip it up, test it out, feel around for changes and let me know!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2014
  2. Axefan

Axefan Benefactor

Not much LRM ammo. I'd drop 2 or 3 jump jets and load up on ammo instead.

3. LackofCertainty

LackofCertainty New Member

Haven't managed to grab myself a treb yet, but I just wanted to provide some feedback on the build.

Major flaws:
    1. You have an XL engine + Case.
    Case does nothing when paired with XL engines. Case prevents ammo explosions from spreading, but they still destroy the location they're in, which will kill your mech because of the XL engine.

2. You only have 1 ton of LRM Ammo with an LRM 20.
    6 shots from an LRM 20 is not enough to make an LRM20 worth it, and especially not if you load Artemis too.

Minor flaws:
    3. AMS seems out of place.
    Your mech is fairly fast, and has jumpjets and an LRM as it's primary weapon. You shouldn't be taking LRM damage often, so the AMS is unnecessary.

4. Artemis is questionable.
    Artemis only works when you maintain line of sight, so it seems a little odd on a poptart mech.

5. Bap is questionable.