CTF-3D Firecracker (2x PPC, 2x LLas, 1x JJ, STD275) [w/ video + commentary]

Thread in 'CTF-3D' started by Soy, Aug 24, 2013.

1. Soy

Soy Min-Max Maniac

Video available in 1080p

Ok, so this is it. The build I've been working on since July.

You guys know I don't mess around (for the most part); in preparation of the ghost heat changes and various crackdowns on boats/front loaded/pinpoint loadouts, this is what I was developing and mastering over the late summer.

But, lets get one thing straight - Firecracker is not a top-tier competitive build. At least, not in my eyes. However, the good news it's in a strong area just below top, making it a great example of an up-to-snuff and currently meta-viable pubstar build which is a blast to play if you like big damage, kill shots, headshots, poptarting, tanking shots from baddies, or mixing up your ranges and maneuvers.

Also, concerning the vid showcase - this is my first time ever doing commentary on anything. So, yeah. I hope it gives a little insight into the way I approach the build from a playstyle standpoint, and maybe give a little bit of insight into various things (like tactics). ;)

Oh and one more thing about the vid... the language is NSFW, cuz I get mad at rocks at one point. I also have more footage of this build in action for an upcoming installment of Sauce! :rofl: :rolleyes:

Oh, and one more thing... I've seen a lot of similar builds to this lately popping up, which all differ in slight ways but the loadouts are the same. That's great. But the issue with most of them is that they try and skate by on an XL engine - this is a bad idea, for various reasons I would explain if prodded. Suffice to say, those XL builds are better suited for very specific environments like, say, a solo tourny, where the risk vs reward dictates the necessity of extra speed to reach critical positions in matches. Otherwise, the survivability of this mech is untouched by other forms of this build.